Dromavalla/Dromavally Burial Ground stands on a hill to the east of the River Laune opposite the main town of Killorglin. The church which stands in the middle of the graveyard probably dates from the late 13th or early 14th century, as evidenced by the eastern Romanesque style window. The lands around Killorglin had been granted to the Augustine Order who established an Abbey at Kilcolman/Killagha. Dromavalla Church served as the main parish church until the 1580s. Following the Desmond Rebellion and the Plantation of Munster the lands of the Augustinians at Kilcolman and the site of Dromavalla Church were granted to Sir Thomas Spring. The church fell into disrepair and was recorded as being ‘in ruins’ in 1756 by Dr. Charles Smith in ‘The Ancient and Present State of Kerry’. The burial ground is dotted with some fascinating tombs and grave markings.
GPS: 52.10696, -9.77897