Carriganass Castle is a 16th century 4-storey tower house surrounded by a 4 metre outer curtain wall. It is situated close to the village of Kealkill in West Cork. Its name derives from ‘Caisleán Charraig an Easa’ in Irish meaning ‘The Castle on the Rock of the Waterfall’ owing to its positioning, balanced on a rock overhanging the Ouvane River. It is believed that the castle was built in 1540 by Dermot O’Sullivan a member of the powerful O’Sullivan Beira sept. The castle changed ownership several times during the latter part of the 16th century due to internal battles within the O’Sullivan sept. However after the O’Sullivans decided to support Hugh O’Neill at the Battle of Kinsale in 1601 and owing to a English victory the O’ Sullivans were forced back to their base on the Beara Peninsula, leaving only a small number of troops at Carriganass. Sir George Carew quickly took the castle and went on to lay siege to the larger O’Sullivan force at Dunboy Castle. With the O’Sulliivans dispossessed of their lands and many members joining the Flight of the Earls in 1607 the castle passed into the ownership of the Barretts who retained ownership until the 1930s.
The castle is picturesquely situated and its classic structure helps to make it a very captivating and impressive place to explore.
GPS: 51.754, -9.37921